Main Areas

According to preliminary estimates, the implementation of energy efficiency measures and RES projects will reduce annual direct and indirect CO2 emissions by 1.6 million tonnes of CO2 by 2031, or by at least 15% of the 2019 level (10.7 million tonnes of CO2), including:

  • through energy efficiency measures — reduction of CO2 emissions by 10% or 1.01 million tonnes,
  • through the implementation of RES projects — reduction of CO2 emissions by 5% or 535 thousand tonnes.

It is also important to note the need to improve effectiveness of the energy management system and to prevent methane leaks and emissions.

Currently, we are dealing with the following areas for the implementation of renewable energy projects:  

  1. Ownership of renewable energy assets through:
  • acquisition of a share in operating renewable energy assets (wind and solar power plant projects),
  • construction of new RES-based power plants.

This approach will enable development of renewable energy competencies, following suit of other global oil and gas companies, and will increase the energy independence of our assets.

  1. Conclusion of direct contracts with the RES owners for the purchase of “green” energy.

KMG can become a consumer of “green” renewable energy by signing an off-take contract with major potential investors. This approach will make it possible, without attracting major investments in capital construction, to partially replace traditional electricity consumption with renewable energy sources, thereby reducing the carbon footprint.

  1. The construction of small-scale distributed and autonomous generation of renewable energy sources at the KMG Group’s facilities will enable application of renewable energy technologies in the public utilities sector and in operations (preheating of oil during production/transportation, lighting, hot water supply, etc.).

The possibility of implementing a pilot Carbon Capture, Utilisation and Storage project is being explored as another medium to long-term decarbonisation measure. The importance of this technology is its ability to reduce emissions throughout the energy system.

Основные направления

По предварительным оценкам, реализация мер по энергоэффективности и проектов ВИЭ позволят сократить ежегодные прямые и косвенные выбросы СО2 в объеме - 1,6 млн. тонн СО2 к 2031 году, или не менее чем на 15% от уровня 2019 года (10,7 млн. тонн СО2), в том числе:

  • за счет мероприятий энергоэффективности сокращение выбросов СО2 на 10% или 1,01 млн. тонн,
  • за счет реализации проектов ВИЭ сокращение выбросов СО2 на 5% или 535 тыс. тонн.

Важно отметить, также и необходимость повышения эффективности системы энергоменеджмента и предотвращение утечек и выбросов метана.

На текущий момент мы прорабатываем следующие направления реализации проектов по возобновляемым источникам энергии:  

  1. Владение активами ВИЭ через:
  • приобретение доли в действующих активах ВИЭ (проекты ветровых и солнечных электростанций),
  • строительство новых электрических станций ВИЭ.

Данный подход позволит начать нарабатывать компетенции в области ВИЭ, по примеру других мировых нефтегазовых компаний, а также повысить энергетическую независимость наших активов.

  1. Заключение прямых контрактов с владельцами объектов ВИЭ на приобретение «зеленой» энергии.

КМГ может стать потребителем «зеленой» энергии ВИЭ, заключив оффтейк контракт с крупными потенциальными инвесторами. Данный подход позволит без привлечения серьезных инвестиций в капитальное строительство осуществить частичное замещение традиционного электропотребления на ВИЭ, тем самым снижая углеродный след.

  1. Строительство маломасштабной распределенной и автономной генерации ВИЭ на объектах группы компаний КМГ позволит применить технологии ВИЭ в секторе коммунально-бытового хозяйства и в производственных процессах (предварительный нагрев нефти при добыче / транспортировке, освещение, горячее водоснабжение и другие).

В качестве дополнительных мер декарбонизации на средне-долгосрочную перспективу изучается возможность реализации пилотного проекта по улавливанию, утилизации и хранению углерода. Важность данной технологии заключается в ее способности сокращения выбросов во всей энергетической системе.